Say Say Oh Playmate

A little dab of old fashioned family fun for your weekend . . .

Say say oh playmate
Come out and play with me
And bring your dollies three
Climb up my apple tree
Cry down my rain barrel
Slide down my cellar door 
And we’ll be jolly friends
Forever more!

P.S. Before I get even one comment on this . .  .

Yes, I know that the lyrics to this little ditty most commonly run, “Slide down my rain barrel, into my cellar door.”

But no, I don’t believe I got the lyrics wrong. The first couple of Google search engine pages won’t back me up on this, but the variation above is, I’m fairly convinced, not original. 

This is a rain barrel.

This is a cellar door.

Would you really slide down the barrel into the door? Really?

My mother remembers the lyric like this: “Cry down my rain barrel; slide down my cellar door.”

To me, that makes perfect sense . . . so that’s the version I’m teaching my girls.

7 thoughts on “Say Say Oh Playmate

  1. Who cares…it was charming! I remember only doing Peas Porridge Hot as a girl. That may be because mom was a working mom in an age of mostly stay home moms… or perhaps her area in North Carolina didn’t have time for family fun.

    We have Pete Seeger’s collection of old time childrens’ songs and play songs. We will send it to you one of these days….if I can find it. 😉

    • You know, I can’t remember where I learned Say Say Oh Playmate . . . funny thing. It was my favorite of the handful of hand-clapping games we knew, and it’s the only one I can still recall perfectly today.

  2. That’s some good logic, that is. I don’t remember what I used as a kid, but we did start ours out with “See see oh playmate”.

    • See see? That’s a new one to me. Cool! I love how kids’ rhymes vary so broadly from playground to playground. I wonder how many versions of “Jingle Bells, Batman Smells” are in existence today?

      Also, I hear from Dadoo that you’ll be part of our sausage-making field trip next week. YAY! I can’t wait — and I’m bringing my camera. Have blog, will travel!

Leave a Reply

