Feed the Birds

Remember all those old fashioned amenities at our new place that I told you about last spring?

(Ah, spring. Seems like a lifetime ago now. Good times.)

Yes, well, I forgot to mention one then, so let me do so now.

Way out back, roughly between the old fashioned clothes dryer and the old fashioned playhouse, there used to stand a dilapidated old  bird feeder.

I say used to stand, because there isn’t a dilapidated old bird feeder there anymore.

No sirree. Thanks to some scrap lumber, a bit of sheet glass, a Saturday morning’s worth of puttering by my über-handy dad, and a couple of trips to the birdseed aisle at Meijer, there is now a fully refurbished, fully stocked, fully functional birdy buffet outside.

And it is a beautiful sight to behold.

Don’t believe me? Check out the raw footage below starring just a few of our fine-feathered diners!

(And keep in mind as you watch this that nearly all the birds flew off when I they heard me step out onto the porch; only about half of the original crew made their way back before I got too cold to stay out any longer in just my slippers. Also, for some reason, there were no blue jays out that morning, though I’ve seen as many as five sharing the feeder at other times.)

“Come feed the little birds, show them you care
And you’ll be glad if you do.
Their young ones are hungry,
Their nests are so bare;
All it takes is tuppence from you.”

Leave a Reply

