Adventure 8: Bake Bread

I’m very tired tonight. Trying to work diligently when a holiday weekend is so close is quite wearying. But I owe you, dear readers, and myself two blog posts, and, by gummy, we’re going to get them.

They may be short.

First up, our new adventure. Thanksgiving is less two days away, so something culinary seems in order. Also, since the last few adventures have been kind of intense for me, something that can be done in just a couple of hours seems ideal.

Therefore, I pronounce that my next adventure shall be to bake bread! From scratch. With yeast, and rising, and kneading, and all that fun stuff. And, if at all possible, I’m going to find  it in me to let the children help. They need to know firsthand that bread doesn’t always have to come from a store.

By way of an old-fashioned ratio for this adventure, here’s a snippet from a very old-fashioned book — Louisa May Alcott’s Eight Cousins.

Uncle Alec begins,

“Well, now, there is one very excellent, necessary, and womanly accomplishment that no girl should be without, for it is a help to rich and poor, and the comfort of families depends upon it. This fine talent is neglected nowadays and considered old-fashioned, which is a sad mistake and one that I don’t mean to make in bringing up my girl.”

“Oh, what is it?” cried Rose eagerly, charmed to be met in this helpful and cordial way.

“Housekeeping! . . . When you bring me a handsome, wholesome loaf, entirely made by yourself, I shall be more pleased than if ou offered me a pair of slippers embroidered in the very latest style. I don’t mean to bribe you, but I’ll give you my heartiest kiss, and promise to eat every crumb of the loaf myself.”

Brace yourself for darling photos of small children covered with flour. Tomorrow evening . . . we bake!

One thought on “Adventure 8: Bake Bread

  1. Pingback: Newfangled New Year | Life, Old Fashioned

Leave a Reply

