Adventure 5: Do the Dishes (recap)

A woman could get used to this.

My clean kitchen.

During and After. I don't have a before photo, since I'm not in the habit of taking pictures of dirty dishes. Seriously, though . . . aside from times when we were cooking or eating, this is what the kitchen has looked like all week. Yeah, I know. Wow.

In the interest of balance, I fully intend to throw a few Adventures into the mix that will be really challenging for me, maybe even misery-inducing. I really don’t want the plot of this blog to be merely: Rachel tried something new. It was wonderful. The end. 

I truly expected that this would be one of those miserable weeks. I hate washing dishes. Always have . . . probably always will.

But . . . what do you know? It wasn’t. We have successfully managed to keep ahead of the grime, washing dishes after every meal for a full week.

Now, I fully acknowledge that this accomplishment may not seem like much for you neat-freaky folks out there. It’s worth noting, however, that this week we shattered my old record for “consecutive days with a clean kitchen” by about four days.

And it wasn’t even as hard as I thought it would be. In fact, it was so much less hard than I thought it would be that, long before the end of the week, I found myself thinking loudly, “Why the heck didn’t we start living like this years ago?!”

Dishes are, it turns out, a lot less of a big deal when there are only a few of them to do at a time. They’re also a lot easier to clean while the dirty stuff on them is still fresh. Who’d have thunk it?

What’s more, beyond the simple aesthetic delight of having a clean kitchen, the satisfaction of conquering a new challenge, and the “doh!” feeling  I mentioned above, this week has brought on a few very pleasant side effects:

  1. Mornings (I hate mornings) are nicer and more cheerful. As it turns out, it’s lovely to wake up to a clean kitchen every day.
  2. Cooking is more fun. Granted, I didn’t cook every night. We went out to dinner once and ate pizza off paper towels twice (no, it’s not cheating). But when I did cook, I enjoyed it a lot more than usual. It’s quite a bit easier to feel like Rachel Ray or that guy from Yan Can Cook when you don’t have to work around stacks of dirty plates and grimy pots.
  3. The whole house is cleaner. Momentum is a funny thing. Once I’m up off my bottom and moving around to do the dishes, there are an awful lot of “might as wells” that begin to come into play. Might as well take out the trash. Might as well tidy the living room. Might as well vacuum  . . . while I’m up. It’s kind of neat to see how that works.

Yesterday, Ken asked me what I thought of this week’s Adventure. I said it made me feel like a queen to have a clean kitchen all the time.

I don’t know whether or not we’ll be able to keep our streak going, but I really hope so. I’m really starting to get used to my new, clean kitchen, and I don’t want to give it up!

sink

This empty sink may not look like much to you, but it's Buckingham Palace to me.

9 thoughts on “Adventure 5: Do the Dishes (recap)

  1. You’re making some wonderful discoveries, Rachel. Miles ahead of me on this one. Though I do dishes 2 or more times a day, it still doesn’t look clean. But I AM NOT GIVING UP. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. This is great! I’m so relieved to know that there are others out there who are imperfect:-) I have good weeks and bad weeks and you’re totally right about the momentum. During the good weeks the whole house benefits. During the not so good weeks it spills over from the kitchen everywhere else:-) I am newly inspired! Either that or I’m nesting (probably both:-) Great blog! Keep em coming!

  3. I got the keeping the dishes done just about the time we moved. Now with a dishwasher and just the two of us, I have more trouble getting dishes done than when the kids were little and under foot, or goat milk bottles to wash and keep clean!

  4. My goodness! Are we somehow related? I have also had the same disdain for doing dishes (not likely an uncommon thing) But lately I have made the same deal, doing dishes after each meal. I also made Monday my kitchen cleaning day, when I really scrub and do detail work. Yesterday being Monday, I set my oven’s self cleaning timer, cleaned inside and out of all the appliances, emptied all the drawers and wiped down all the utensil organizers, found some things I could give to Good Will, made a special place in the cupboard for all the baby bottles so they aren’t on the counter, swept and mopped the floors, sharpened my knives, oiled my wood cutting boards and polished my sink and faucet! It’s been a month now since I’ve been doing this, and I have raw hands, but my house is cleaner than ever! Maybe it’s time to invest in some rubber gloves. It seems that the kitchen really is the heart of the home. Just like you said, it gives you momentum and inspiration to keep the rest of your house clean. Keep up the good work Mama! 😀

  5. Pingback: Adventure 6: Read the New Testament (recap) | Life, Old Fashioned

  6. Holy crap!!! Go Rachel!! I am envious. We’ve settled into a one-cooks, other-cleans sort of routine, which means I am forever cooking and Matt is forever avoiding the sink;) I agree, Buckingham Palace. Though I gotta say… powedered coffee mate?! lol

Leave a Reply

